Personal Care Assistant Job in Canterbury, Kent at Hannah’s

Canterbury, Kent, Full Time £15k - £20k

PERSONAL ASSISTANTS REQUIRED

I am a 41 year old socially active physically disabled lady,I am cheerful and friendly and like to live life to the full. I need support to maintain an independent lifestyle. I am a powered wheelchair user and need assistance with personal care/medical care and all daily tasks. I am funded through a Personal Health Budget provided by the Continuing Healthcare provision through the NHS. I have for the last 10 years been employing live-in PA’s but have been requested by Continuing Healthcare to change to shift patterns, to make my care package more robust.

What This Role Entails:-

I’m looking for 5 friendly, caring Personal Assistants to cover a set pattern of shifts on a 5 week rolling rota covering 24/7.

Each post will involve 3 shifts per week, some day shifts, some nights, totalling 33.5 hours per week for each post.

The job role involves, personal care (hoisting, bathing, assistance to eat, etc), medical care (changing my Suprapubic catheter and catheter care (training will be given), and checking on any bodily changes etc) household duties (cleaning, cooking and laundry) support when out and about and help during my voluntary job as Chairperson with a charity,  assistance when attending the theatre, cinema and social events, eating out etc.   This is an enjoyable job!!

Training will be given. From time to time I will require my PAs to work flexibly, this is to make sure I have all shifts covered due to PAs being on annual leave etc.

This position is in my adapted bungalow in Canterbury, Kent.

This is a PAYE position. Paid at £10.46 per hour, until midnight when you would be paid £40 per sleep in night.   Example shifts would be :-  8am – 6pm,  6pm – 8 am.

P.A Requirements Needed Are As Follows:-

Happy, chatty, flexible, must be reliable and capable of taking instructions for my support needs, without taking over.    I am able to think for myself even though I am unable to attend to my needs. Good understanding of spoken and written English.  The position is ideal for reliable individuals who are outgoing and eager to learn the role and help me enjoy my life.

Knowledge of moving and handling and supporting someone with complex needs is desirable.

Must have a full clean driving licence and be a confident driver, of a manual vehicle.  Must be aged over 25 years (this is an insurance requirement for my adapted mobility car).

Experience not essential as I can self-direct my care, but some knowledge of disability awareness would be an advantage.  A friendly and caring personality are more important than qualifications.

References will be required and this position is subject to a DBS check.

This is a female only position, and is exempt under the Equality Act 2010 Schedule 9 paragraphs 1-4.

A probationary period of twelve weeks will be required.

Closing date for these positions will be 29th March 2021.  Interviews via Zoom and hopefully face to face in mid April ‘21 for job to commence late May early June 21.

If you are interested in this position please contact me, with your CV and in return I will send  an Application Form and a job description.

Join Jobcentre

Apply for this Job

Upload your CV/resume or any other relevant file. Max. file size: 32 MB.